Famous MMA quote

Joe Rogan: "If you put Phil Baroni's brain in Pedro Rizzo's body, he would not lose."
Mike Goldberg: "and he would speak better english too".

re: Peter Robertson Zen Do Kai Singapore

5 replies [Last post]
The Rhino
User offline. Last seen 1 year 34 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 01/09/2009

Message from the Bob Jones Martial Arts Head Office, Australia

https://www.worldblackbelt.com/Member_Pages/PeterRobertson/default.asp

Peter Robertson is not a legitimate BJMA Instructor.

Bob Jones Martial Arts owns the sole rights to the Zen Do Kai brand. Our instructors must be a minimum of Full First Degree Black Belt to be a registered and authorised instructor.

At this stage, Peter is only a Probationary Black Belt and is falsely representing himself as the founder of Zen Do Kai Singapore.

Should you have any queries, please contact the BJMA Head Office, +61 3 8401 4863 or info@bobjones.com.au

Michael Kenna
MANAGER

mmasg
User offline. Last seen 10 hours 29 min ago. Offline
Joined: 07/05/2007

have you talk with him about this? chatting a bit usually clears up the air Nose Smile

hansen
User offline. Last seen 1 year 35 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 20/07/2009

So Zen Do Kai is a brand? Licensed trademark here in SG?

The Rhino
User offline. Last seen 1 year 34 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 01/09/2009

We have tried to discuss the matter with Peter; he has not returned a valid response.

If you see him, please question his grade and his authority to teach.

ALL Zen Do Kai Instructors teaching under the Bob Jones Martial Arts & Bob Jones Corporation banner, MUST be registered by our office. Peter is not.

mmasg
User offline. Last seen 10 hours 29 min ago. Offline
Joined: 07/05/2007

mate... we're not the zdk police, it's your turf. you didn't answered to hansen, though...

warrior
User offline. Last seen 43 weeks 2 days ago. Offline
Joined: 13/10/2010

Unfortunately, he is calling himself "Zen Do Ka", and not "Zen Do Kai".. there is a missing "i". Check out his website - http://www.zendokai-karate-kickboxing.com/ (though the URL did not change).

He registered his setup as a business in Singapore.

At one stage, he was addressing himself (when communicating with others) as "Shihan Peter". In Karate, "Shihan" title is accorded to 5th Dan and above.

He is pretty good in marketing, and managed to get quite a bit of media coverage. He also claimed that he wished to explore his root, and take up normal Karate (Goju-Ryu) and is a white belt. The instructor there refuse to acknowledge his claim and offered to start him at white belt. He fought in a couple of Karate competitions, but lost all (partly because he was not following the Karate kumite rules, and also because his skill level may not be there as he fought under the heavy weight and open categories where the opponents are really strong).

[He missed the last few gradings, would probably make it to yellow belt without problem given his martial art background.]

While it is case of ".. to each his own...", I hope his students are there after knowing the full facts of his background. I personally do not respect martial arts who break away and form their own styles (unless there is blessing from the master). I view these people as traitors of their style.

Then again, he could have called his style "Robertson-Ryu" or whatever, and do not claim heritage... Then it is up to the student... Caveat emptor ("buyer beware").